Department of Islamic Philosophy deals with the philosophical thought produced within Islamic culture and in Muslim lands. It represents rich and inclusive aspects of the Islamic intellectual heritage. In the Islamic context, Islamic Philosophy is intrinsically related to the other Islamic sciences, including Kalam, Sufism, Jurisprudence, etc. In the Western context, it is seen that philosophical discussions in the writings of Jewish and Christian Philosophers originally based on the works of Muslim philosophers such as Ibn Sina (Avicenna) and Ibn Rushd (Averroes). The program offers courses on almost all philosophical topics, including logic, epistemology, ontology, metaphysics, ethics, and politics and focuses on three sub-fields as The History of Islamic Philosophy, The History of Turkish Thought, and Islamic Ethics. Muhammed b. Tavit Tanci, Hilmi Ziya Ülken, İbrahim Agâh Çubukçu, Cavit Sunar, Hüseyin Atay, Hayrani Altıntaş, and Mehmet Bayrakdar are among the prestigious professors who have contributed to the enhancement of the Department over its history.